History and Genealogy Records Preserved by AzArrow

Dunn County

Book Description:

Early days in Dunn County, WI, are recalled through a mixture of colorful tales, factual data and individual biographies, in this New 26 page 8 1/2" x 11" spiral-bound booklet, printed single-sided on 60 # opaque paper. The front cover is a parchtex card stock, protected with a vinyl sheet. The information comes from a rare 1881 book, entitled History of Northern Wisconsin. We've enlarged the area on a map from the original book, and included it along with two other maps of historic interest. Communities currently listed for this area by the National Association of Counties include: Boyceville, Colfax, Downing, Downsville, Dunn, Eau Galle, Elk Mound, Grant, Hay River, Knapp, Lucas, Menomonie (County Seat), Mondovi, New Haven, Otter Creek, Peru, Red Cedar, Ridgeland, Rock Creek, Rock Falls, Sand Creek, Sheridan, Sherman, Spring Brook, Stanton, Tainter, Tiffany, Weston, Wheeler, Wilson. (Some towns are not mentioned in the booklet.) Among the many subjects included are: Location and Natural Resources; Surprising find while digging a well; Early visitors and settlers; the lumber business, and various mills and mill owners; early weddings; flour and whiskey; Big Rascal and a near Indian uprising; More on early settlers, including Perry Curtis, John Rogler, Simeon Morugg, J.B. McCann, G.M. Fowler, Jacob Miller, W.M. Dunn, and others; County officials, the murders of Milton and Charles Coleman; the village of Menomonie (including a sketch) -- library, schools, churches, newspapers, industries, societies, etc.; the villages of Knapp, Rusk, Downsville, Dunnville, Cedar Falls, Eau Galle, Rock Falls, Maridean, etc.; and other interesting bits of history and trivia. Attention Genealogists: In addition to the many names mentioned throughout the booklet, there are biographies of many county residents of the late 1800s. Some of these are brief, but others include family members, affiliations, war records, and business activities, in the course of which they often shed light on area businesses, churches, professions and institutions, and on news events. Those listed are (not in alphbetical order): Alvan J. Messinger, Dr. Walter Crocker, William McKahn, Dr. David Heller, Capt. J.M. Mott, Fred. R. Church, Levi Vance, Henry Grob, Pettis Tiffany, Fritz Paule, W.H. Allen, Dr. Edwin O. Baker (pix), Royal C. Bierce, George R. Brewer, Thomas J. Bryan, E.B. Bundy, Newell Burch, Newton F. Carpenter, J.J. Carter, Daniel P. Chamberlin, David Chapin, William J. Cowan, S.G. Dean, Col. E.L. Doolittle, John H. Edwards, Ole Egdal, Mrs. Mary R. Fowler, S.B. French, Capt. Thomas J. George, S.A. Gilley, W.F. Gould, Stephen G. Gould, Dr. E.H. Grannis, N.W. Greene, James Grover, Elsie Guptill, Henry W. Hefner, Joseph Hartmann, John A. Heintz, Rev. Michael Heiss, Thomas S. Heller, Julius A. Hill, William Huber, Prof. J.G. Ingalls, Jacob Jungck, Peter Lammer, W.H Landon, John T. Long Jr., Rev. L. Lund, S.D. McKahan, Robert Macauley, Thomas Manley, Egbert Marks, Edward Munske, Walter McNeel, John Noulen, O. Ohnstad, Thomas Ordemann, T.H. Oswald, Christ Pauly, Peter Perrault, Sewell A. Peterson, E. Pixley, Rev. William Pomeremke, O.K. Ranum, William Schutte, Albert Quilling, G.H. Seely, Sever Severson, George Shaffer, George Tonnar, Frederick Ursinus, Daniel Waite, Fred E. Blaser, Dr. J.T. Bright, Edward C. Coleman, Dr. W.W. Dorry, Solomon J. Fletcher, Dr. C.H. Fressell, H.W. Kellogg, Herbert Lucas, Mathew McCormic, W.D. Young, Edward K. Brayton, Dr. William A. Bury, John Hauss, George Owen, J.F. Ronneberger, Adelbert C. Sherburne, Wilshire Sherburne, Rodolph A. Zuehlke, Edgar M. Drake, John Flick Jr., Jacob Hermann, Joel Horner, Ole Larsen, Robert B. McCullough, Lyman S. Mason, A. S. Messenger, S.C. Rogers, A.J. Tibbetts, James Williamson, Thomas W. M. Macauley, John Borland, James Glidewell, George W. Horten, W.H. Irish, John McGilton, Oliver P. McKesson, J.T. Mathews, W.A. Mathews, James G. Neville, J.K. Patten, F.W. Pitcher, E.R. Sherburne, John S. Stevens, William H. Smith, Patrick Fitzgerald, John Dauvin, Samuel Andrews, Harrison Beeman, M.R. Bump, George Chamberlin, J.N. Clark, M.C. Clark, John Norrish, G.S. Pierce, Jerome B. Garland, Francis H. Morgan, E.A. Nichols, Franklin Wells, Dr. Eli Monteith, J.D. Simons, William H. Doane, E.L. Evarts, H.A. Farnham, William Goercke, John Harshman, Frederick Steinkel, William Whitcher.

Dunn County,
only $7.60

Cover of Dunn County History

Sources: History of Northern Wisconsin / History of Dunn County Wisconsin
Authors: A.J. Coolidge and J.B. Mansfield
Original Publication Year: 1881
Original Publisher: Austin J. Coolidge
See Description for more info.


Browse by State

Search for a Subject, Place, Name or other Keyword

Shipping Charges

Your entire order ships for $3, which covers Standard Media Mail Shipping. Allow 1-2 weeks for delivery.

Priority mail is also available during checkout. Price varies but will never exceed $11 for your entire order.

Sending Check or Money Order

This site uses PayPal to complete payment. PayPal accepts all major credit cards and you do not need a PayPal account.

If you prefer to mail Check or Money Order: Total the prices for the books you'd like. Add $3 shipping for your entire order. Make payment to Thomas Rebok and send to:

Thomas Rebok
4643 E Juarez Street
Tucson AZ  85711

Shipping Charges

Your entire order ships for $3, which covers Standard Media Mail Shipping. Allow 1-2 weeks for delivery.

Priority mail is also available during checkout. Price varies but will never exceed $11 for your entire order.

Need Assistance?

AzArrow is managed by a couple regular folks. If you have a question or need assistance, we're more than happy to help out.

Contact Us