History and Genealogy Records Preserved by AzArrow

Boone Mingo and Logan Counties

Book Description:

Early days in Logan, Mingo and Boone Counties are recalled through a mixture of colorful tales and factual data in this booklet comprised of excerpts from four rare vintage books: Historical Collections of Virginia by Henry Howe (1845); West Virginia in History, Life, Literature and Industry by Morris Purdy Shawkey (1928); History of West Virginia by Virgil A. Lewis (1889); and Virginia, a Guide to the Mountain State, a WPA publication (1941), plus some early articles on the famous Hatfield and McCoy feud which occurred in this area. This NEW 60 page booklet is printed single sided on 60# opaque paper, with the print size enlarged as needed to fit the 8 1/2 x 11 size. The front cover is a parchtex card stock, protected with a vinyl sheet. Communities currently listed for this area by the National Association of Counties (but not necessarily mentionedin the booklet),include: (Some of these communities are not be mentioned in the booklet.) Logan County (formed in 1824) Accoville, Amherstdale, Barnabus, Big Creek, Blair, Bruno, Chapmanville, Chauncey, Clothier, Cora, Davin, Dehue, Earling, Ethel, Henlawson, Holden, Hunt, Kistler, Lake, Landville, Logan (County Seat, earlier names -- Lawnsville and Aracoma), Lorado, Lundale, Lyburn, Mallory, Man, McConnell, Mitchell Heights, Monaville, Mount Gay, Omar, Peach Creek, Pecks Mill, Robinette, Rossmore, Sarah Ann, Sharples, Shively, Stirrat, Stollings, Switzer, Taplin, Verdunville, West Logan, Whitman, Wilkinson, Yolyn Mingo County (formed in 1895) Baisden, Blackberry City, Borderland, Breeden, Chattaroy, Delbarton, Dingess, Edgarton, Emmett, Gilbert, Hampden, Justice, Kermit, Lenore, Lobata, Matewan, Meador, Myrtle, Naugatuck, Newtown, Nolan, North Matewan, Ragland, Rawl, Red Jacket, Sprigg, Thacker, Varney, Verner, Vulcan, Wharncliffe, Williamson (County Seat) Boone County (formed in 1847): Artie, Ashford, Bald Knob, Bandytown, Barrett, Bim, Bloomingrose, Bob White, Comfort, Costa, Danville, Foster, Garrison, Gordon, Hewett, Jeffrey, Julian, Madison (County Seat), Nellis, Orgas, Ottawa, Packsville, Peytona, Prenter, Racine, Ramage, Ridgeview, Seth, Sylvester, Turtle Creek, Twilight, Uneeda, Van, Wharton, Whitesville Among the subjects included are: A Special section on the notorious Hatfield- McCoy feud; Formation of the counties and towns; physical features; where some place names came from; the "Sandy Creek Voyage" against the Indians; the "Mingo March" strike by the United Mine Workers resulting in a week of terror; Changes in coal mining to utilize by-products; various county seats; Thomas Dunn English - author; Jack Dempsey, Chief Logan and the Mingo Indian tribe; William M. Peyton and Peytona; Discovery of coal in West Virginia, and other bits of history and trivia. Attention Genealogists: This booklet contains detailed biographies from the late 1800s. Besides being of interest to genealogists, they shed light on the businesses and institutions in the area, and on the events of the day. They include: LOGAN: Bruce Carroll, James E. Greever, Clarence H. Frey, David C. Brown, Thomas E. Rothwell, Willis S. Parsons, Ira P. Hager, Charles S. Minter, Perino B. Wingfield, Harry S. Gay Jr., Fred S. Schuster, James W. Johnson, James Walter Fisher, Rev. Austin P. Benjamin, Patrick F. Mahoney, Enoch White, Benjamin F. Justice, John Benjamin Wilkinson, C. Frank James, Robert L. Jenkins, John Hunter, Clarence W. Poling, Carroll W. Cromwell, Wallace B. Masincupp, Mrs. Vicie (Straton) Nighbert, Henry L. Fisher, Edwin H. Hutchinson, Robert Bland, J. Samuel Weddington, Arch J. Alexander, Robert T. Moore, Frank E. Bostic, Elmer A. Anthony, Arthur E. Morgan. MINGO: Robert E. Cochran, James Damron, Dr. Olin Henry Jennings, William C. Harrison, John L. Stafford, Dr. Roscoe McKinley Justice, George R. C. Wiles, Dr. Walter F. Leech, James M. Jordan, S.U.G. Rhodes, Dr. Charles H. Temple, James Walter Copley, Wirt F. Hatfield (Williamson's Mayor), Albert R. Jones, Willard E. Hatfield, Echols A. Hansbarger, Samuel Clay Whitt, Rev. Walter W. Williams. BOONE: John T. Robertson, Hursie M. White, Frank P. Murphy, Alfred Willis Garnett, Hugh T. Ramsey, Irving Sutphin, Charlie F. Baldwin, George W. Coyle, Luther R. Jones.

Boone Mingo and Logan Counties, WV
only $10.80

Cover of Boone Mingo and Logan Counties History

Sources: History of West Virginia; History of Boone County
Authors: Virgil A. Lewis
Original Publication Year: 1889
Original Publisher: Durrie and Peck and J.W. Barber
See Description for more info.


Browse by State

Search for a Subject, Place, Name or other Keyword

Shipping Charges

Your entire order ships for $3, which covers Standard Media Mail Shipping. Allow 1-2 weeks for delivery.

Priority mail is also available during checkout. Price varies but will never exceed $11 for your entire order.

Sending Check or Money Order

This site uses PayPal to complete payment. PayPal accepts all major credit cards and you do not need a PayPal account.

If you prefer to mail Check or Money Order: Total the prices for the books you'd like. Add $3 shipping for your entire order. Make payment to Thomas Rebok and send to:

Thomas Rebok
4643 E Juarez Street
Tucson AZ  85711

Shipping Charges

Your entire order ships for $3, which covers Standard Media Mail Shipping. Allow 1-2 weeks for delivery.

Priority mail is also available during checkout. Price varies but will never exceed $11 for your entire order.

Need Assistance?

AzArrow is managed by a couple regular folks. If you have a question or need assistance, we're more than happy to help out.

Contact Us