History and Genealogy Records Preserved by AzArrow

Pulaski County

Book Description:

Early days in Pulaski County, AR, and the City of Little Rock, are recalled in this 170 page spiral-bound booklet, comprised of excerpts from Goodspeed's Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Pulaski, Jefferson, Lonoke, Faulkner, Grant, Saline, Perry, Garland and Hot Spring Counties, Arkansas (1886), and from Arkansas, A Guide to the State, a 1941 WPA publication. The booklet is printed on 60# paper. A vinyl sheet has been added to protect the front cover. The first part of the booklet contains a history of the area: Physical Characteristics -- waterways, minerals, mountains, soil, etc.; Agriculture; Agriculture; Population growth; Pioneers; Early settlers by townships; a Pioneer's Cabin; County organization, courthouse and jail; Principal county officers (1830 to 1886), Civil War days; Attorneys and Doctors; the City of Little Rock -- the United States arsenal, cemeteries, parks, Banks, Manufacturing firms, Newspapers, Duels and murders; Schools, including Little Rock University; the Medical Department of Arkansas Industrial University, Little Rock Commercial College, and others; Churches, and other items of interest. Besides the names mentioned in the first part of the booklet, there are biographies of many county residents of yesteryear. Most are fairly lengthy, and often include ancestors, previous residences, children, in-laws, affiliations, war records, and business activities. In the course of this they often shed light on the early businesses, professions and institutions in the county. The biographies include: Major John D. Adams (pix), Mrs. Marie Archer, William E. Atkinson, Thomas W. Baird, T.W. Baldwin, Dr. J.N. Barnett, George L. Basham, A.D. Beach, Orvill Bearden, David Bender, Dr. Edwin Bentley, Dr. J.L. Blakemore, Dr. Thomas P. Blunt, Frank Botsford, Rev. S.H. Buchanan, H. Buddenberg, Dr. Augustus L. Breysacher, George Russell Brown, John F. Calef, Jonathan Wilson Callaway, Major W.P. Campbell, Dr. William Armour Cantrell, David Diedrich, Rev. Wallace Carnahan, L.D. Cassinelli, Benjamin B. Chism, Charles Choinski, C.W. Clark, Charles W. Clay, Fred B. Coleman, Dr. E. Collins, J.J. Culbertson, Charles E. Cunningham, Isaac A. Dale, Monte C. Davies, Dr. Roderick L. Dodge (pix), Rev. John Dye, Michael W. Eagan, Gov. James Philip Eagle, R.A. Edgerton, Dr. R.M. Enders, John C. England, Chief Justice E.H. English (pix), Thomas Essex, William Farrell Sr., Colonel A.W. Files, James H. Flemming, Thomas Fletcher, John F. Foley, Dr. F.L. French, Jacob Frolich, Walter A. Galloway, Lawrence D. Gleasson, John Albert Goodson, Dr. George W. Granberry, Frank P. Gray, Joseph Griffith, Dr. L.H. Hall, P. Hanger, Fred Hanger, James K.P. Henderson, Capt. John L. Hicks, Wilbur Fisk Hill, Dr. P.O. Hooper, col. John W. Hopkins, Joseph W. House, W.S. Hutt, William P. Hutton, John Ingram, Dr. Roscoe Greene Jennings (pix), D.C. Jennings, J.B. Johnson, Dr. David W. Jones, John T. Jones, Judge Eban W. Kimball, J.W. Knott, Fred Kramer Jr., Martin L. Kumpe, W.J. Landrum, Isaac Lawrence, Robert W. Lemastee, Dr. James H. Lenow, Dr. R.W. Lindsey, Capt. Felix G. Lusk, H.D. McCowan, Dr. M.J. McHenry, Angelo Marre, Dr. M.C. Marshall, James A. Martin, Capt. James R. Miller, Dr. L. W. Millett, H.F. Mons, Col. E.B. Moore, Bernard Murray, Dr. C.E. Nash, Col. Thomas W. Newton, Thomas J. Oliphint, E.J. Owens, Esten Peloubet, J.S. Pollock, T.B. Rayburn, Irving Reinberger, Ben F. Reinberger, R. Richardson, Prof. J.R. Rightsen, Major P.K. Roots, Logan H. Roots, Judge U.M. Rose, C.E. Rosenbaum, Fred Rossner, William H. Rowan, J.H. Sannoner, Dr. J.G. Scarborough, Prof. W.U. Simons, W.N. Slack, Dr. James H. Southall, Oscar M. Spellman, Dr. L.R. Stark, C.E. Stephens, Mancil Stone, Prof. M.A. Stone, Dr. George W. Sutton, Ben S. Thalhimer, Dr. A.D. Thomas, Prof. W.S. Thomas, Dr. William Thompson, Charles L. Thompson, Dr. P.H. Treadway, Nathan F. Trotter, Dr. J.B. Trotter, James Tunnah, Prof. M.P. Venable, Creed T. Walker, Mrs. Myra C. Warner, John Wassell, Dr. Claibourne Watkins, J.M. Watkins, Dr. J.P. Webb, E.C. Wehrfritz, William G. Whipple, Col. Beverly D. Williams, Hammond Orne, Elias C. Wilson, D.R. Wing, Fred Wolters, W.B. Worthen, and J.V. Zimmerman. The WPA section may not be an up-to-date tour guide, but it is filled with interesting historical tidbits. It includes several small maps of the area, and describes 37 points of interest in Little Rock, plus five in North Little Rock.

Pulaski County, AR
only $17.50

Cover of Pulaski County History

Sources: History of Pulaski County Arkansas; Northwest Arkansas History
Authors: Mary L. Geiffs
Original Publication Year: 1889
Original Publisher: The Goodspeed Publishing Co.
See Description for more info.


Browse by State

Search for a Subject, Place, Name or other Keyword

Shipping Charges

Your entire order ships for $3, which covers Standard Media Mail Shipping. Allow 1-2 weeks for delivery.

Priority mail is also available during checkout. Price varies but will never exceed $11 for your entire order.

Sending Check or Money Order

This site uses PayPal to complete payment. PayPal accepts all major credit cards and you do not need a PayPal account.

If you prefer to mail Check or Money Order: Total the prices for the books you'd like. Add $3 shipping for your entire order. Make payment to Thomas Rebok and send to:

Thomas Rebok
4643 E Juarez Street
Tucson AZ  85711

Shipping Charges

Your entire order ships for $3, which covers Standard Media Mail Shipping. Allow 1-2 weeks for delivery.

Priority mail is also available during checkout. Price varies but will never exceed $11 for your entire order.

Need Assistance?

AzArrow is managed by a couple regular folks. If you have a question or need assistance, we're more than happy to help out.

Contact Us