History and Genealogy Records Preserved by AzArrow

Franklin County

Book Description:

Early days in Franklin County, AR, are recalled in this spiral bound booklet, comprised of excerpts from the 1889 book, Goodspeed's History of Benton, Washington, Carroll, Madison, Crawford, Franklin and Sebastian counties, Arkansas. The 72-page booklet is printed on 60# paper. A vinyl sheet has been added to protect the front cover. The first part of the booklet contains a brief history of the county: Boundaries, Topography, Mound Builder finds, Early settlers (including an assessor's long list of names from 1839), organization and early officials, Courts, courthouses and trials, Attorneys, Civil War; Settlers and settlements; County officials; Civil War days; Towns and Villages -- Ozark, Charleston, Mulberry City, Altus, and others, Schools, Churches, and other items of interest. Besides the names mentioned in the first part of the booklet, there are biographies of many county residents of yesteryear. Most are fairly lengthy, and often include ancestors, previous residences, children, in-laws, affiliations, war records, and business activities. In the course of this they often shed light on the early businesses, professions and institutions in the county. The biographies include: Prof. Frank J. Allen, Dr. William A. Amis, John R. Amos, Robert M. Anderson, George W. Austin, Dr. W.R. Bachelor, Capt. William W. Bailey, J.W. Bailey, Albert L. Baker, J. Beneux, H.A. Beneux, W.A. Bennett, C.V. Bennett, T.D. Berry, John D. Berry, Hugh W. Blaylock, Robert Sharpe Bridgman, Rev. J.N. Brigance, Dr. William T. Brown, E.B. Bryant, Dr. J.S. Burt, James N.D. Campbell, Francis M. Canon, Martin Carpenter, Dr. Thomas A. Carter, Dr. Wallace A. Carter, J.Benham Carter, C.C. Colburn, Jonathan Cole, Marion H. Conatser, Wyley B. Corley, John E. Cox, John W. Crockett, S.J. Crossno, Willis Davenport, Otto B. Donaldson, William R. Douglass, Frank M. Elsey, James J. Eichenberger, James M. Ford, J.B. Fulks, Chesley M. Gammill, Lorenzo C. Gammill, Dr. Sterling P. Gammill, Willoughby S. Garner, Aaron Garretson, Rev. David Garrison, William Greenlee, Jeptha F. Greenwood, Matt F. Greer, Thomas J. Hadley, Joseph Hamm, Dix Hamm, Joshua L. Hargrove, L.R. Hawkins, Thomas E. Henderson, Frank S. Henry and Co., Henry Hiatt, R.H. Hicks, William Allison Hill, Richard W. Hill, Tanner G. Hill, George W. Hill, William L. Holder, Richard F. Hooper, William T. Hopkins, Zachariah Hopper, Charles E. Hudson, Dr. W.C. Hudson, Joel Q. Hunter, Creed C. Hunter, William H. Hyams, J.T. Jeanes, Dr. A.C. Johnston, Dr. Pinkney S. Johnston, William Kendrick, William V. King, James P. King, James V. King, William M. Kizer, Fred Kobel, Hugh C. Lane, James W. Linzy, Rev. John E. Lish, William E. McCain, Thomas McFerran, William C. McIlroy, Noble R. McKinney, William R. McLane, James R. McLaughlin, William W. Mansfield, Thomas W. Marlar, Prof. William H. Martin, Michael Metz, Rufus K. Milam, Lucas Coleman Milam, Calaway J. Milam, James F. Milam, Thomas F. Milam, William H.O. Milam, Jesse Miller, Bailey P. Miller, William C. Milton, Jesse M. Milton, Henry Moomaw, Hezekiah W. Moore, Blakely E. Moon, Judge William N. Nichols, Uriah J. Nichols, George W. Nichols, Prof. Harvey A. Nickell, Joseph F. Nixon, Francis M. Nixon, William Obar, John Obar, Prof. M.C. O'Donohoe, Col. W.S. O'Kane, Rev. John F. O'Neal, Andrew J. Parker, William J. Parks, John C. Patrick, Judge Henry Payne, J.M. Pendergrass, John M. Peters, John M. Pettigrew, Lewis B. Phillips, David B. Pile, William R. Powell, James F. Quaile, Albert Quesenbury, Samuel Randolph, Capt. Andrew J. Ransom, T.B. Remy, Suddith D. Remy, Capt. William D. Rodman, Nathaniel J. Rice, William H. Russell, A. Hulbert Sadler, William F. Sawyer, Rev. A.G. Shelton, William H. Sherman, John M. Simpson, W. J. Smith, Maurice W. Spencer, John Stephens, Uriah G. Stokes, Monroe Stroup, Jacob Thomas Taylor, Edward Tolbert, Samuel Turner, John N. Volentine, Wiley B. Wagner, M.H. Wagner Jr., G.W. Wagner, Samuel H. Weaver, Prof. Bartley M. Welton, N.W. Whitlock, John H. Whitlock, Ambrose Williams, James H. Williams, Judge John H. Wilson, Dr. W.A. Wilson Jr. and Abner P. Woodruff.

Franklin County, AR
only $11.75

Cover of Franklin County History

Sources: History of Franklin County Arkansas; Northwest Arkansas History
Authors: Mary L. Geiffs
Original Publication Year: 1889
Original Publisher: The Goodspeed Publishing Co.
See Description for more info.


Browse by State

Search for a Subject, Place, Name or other Keyword

Shipping Charges

Your entire order ships for $3, which covers Standard Media Mail Shipping. Allow 1-2 weeks for delivery.

Priority mail is also available during checkout. Price varies but will never exceed $11 for your entire order.

Sending Check or Money Order

This site uses PayPal to complete payment. PayPal accepts all major credit cards and you do not need a PayPal account.

If you prefer to mail Check or Money Order: Total the prices for the books you'd like. Add $3 shipping for your entire order. Make payment to Thomas Rebok and send to:

Thomas Rebok
4643 E Juarez Street
Tucson AZ  85711

Shipping Charges

Your entire order ships for $3, which covers Standard Media Mail Shipping. Allow 1-2 weeks for delivery.

Priority mail is also available during checkout. Price varies but will never exceed $11 for your entire order.

Need Assistance?

AzArrow is managed by a couple regular folks. If you have a question or need assistance, we're more than happy to help out.

Contact Us